By the Sea

Two posts in one day! When it rains, it pours. I was actually going to include the beach news with the previous post, but it was getting a little long, so I decided to split them up.

The beach trip was interesting this year… Duck was wonderful as always, and it’s always a joy to be at the beach, but it was a low-key trip. Several of us came down with an icky cold and I was still a little out of sorts from the allergic reaction I had at my art retreat, so things were a little more mellow. Not that I’m complaining. We’ve been renting the same house for years, so it’s not like being out of sorts in a strange place – which is never fun – but like laying low at home… only with the ocean right outside your window. The beach has always been my happy place, so that was a pretty good deal for me. My son got to come down, so I managed to spend Mother’s Day with him for the first time in several years. That made me very happy. Read cheesy books and laid about watching the waves and the pelicans. Toodled about to our favorite shops and galleries, bought clothes and jewelry and art, did some early Christmas shopping. Took the ferry to Okracoke Island. Had a date day with Bob where we drove the length of the beach road and went for lunch on Hatteras at our favorite burger joint. Ventured down to Manteo for an afternoon. Wiggled my toes in the sand. Made puzzles. Got my Duck Donuts fix for the year, and paid way too many visits to Duck Cottage for a delightful coffee beverage called a Peep-in-a-Cup. Good times!

To sum up…

shiny beach toes
relaxation

beach rainbow
and joy

What more could I ask for?

Well, I guess that’s it… see you next spring.

Leave a Reply

