Collage Painting

As I may have mentioned, last week was collage week in Misty Mawn’s online mixed media workshop. Sadly, I did not have much time – any time really – to get to my studio to work on the assignments last week. I’ve spent the last couple of days playing a little catch up.

The technique I most wanted to try was altering a magazine photo within a collage… practicing the portrait painting skills, you see.

 

She is a magazine photo, glued onto watercolor paper, collaged with other magazine photos and painted over with acrylics, neocolor crayons, stabilio marks all pencil, and white gel pen. The background is done with the neocolor crayons, and the text is in Sharpie.

It took me hours to get her to a point where I really like her, but I do.

Yay!

I know I’ve said it before, but I am really loving this class! Stretching Within is the perfect name for it – Misty’s assignments have taken me way outside my comfort zone with my art. I had no idea that I could do some of the things I’ve accomplished. I am so filled with ideas and inspiration! Most of all, I am liking my drawing & painting more than I ever thought was possible. Oh, the many doors that can swing open for me to explore what’s inside now! I feel like I can take my art to places that I had only wished for.

What an excellent beginning to my year of artful living!

2 Responses to “Collage Painting”

  1. what a lovely collage piece. i love the text along her hand…..very nice~

  2. Patti, I can really see you are loving this new discovery…drawing, painting, collage…it’s addicting, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ I knew you would LOVE Misty’s class, as she has a way of making us recognize and use our potential. I LOVE this piece of art…she is so peaceful, and calm. I love how we get a glimpse of her thoughts πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

