Fuzzy McMasterson – Art Mascot

As I have mentioned, I am taking this online workshop with Misty Mawn. We have an ongoing assignment to pick an item and represent it in some manner every day for the next 5 weeks… drawing, painting, collage, photography, words.

My object is a small, pink stuffed elephant. I found him just after Thanksgiving, while I was Christmas shopping, and I simply had to have him. It was a silly impulse, but I found I couldn’t leave the store without the little guy. I gave him his goofy name – Fuzzy McMasterson – and declared him my mascot for the New Year without knowing that he would be taking such an active role in my artistic life.

I thought perhaps I should introduce him, since I suspect you’ll be seeing a great deal of him over the next several weeks.

I started out on Monday doing a semi-blind contour drawing, which I will not be sharing with you. Today’s effort was a simple line drawing, but I haven’t taken a picture of it yet. Yesterday’s drawing was a practice in shading, and it turned out well enough to let you have a peek…

I have no idea what I’m going to do with him tomorrow. Maybe I’ll do a contour drawing, and add some watercolor to brighten the little fellow up.

In the meantime, I’m off to practice faces…

Leave a Reply

