Extreme Pumpkin Carving

My creative activity yesterday was pumpkin carving.

I found this book called Extreme Pumpkins by Tom Nardone, and it is a hoot! I’m loving the Carrie pumpkin – complete with tiara & fake blood, so I just had to carve my own version! Sadly, when I went over to the grocery store for my pumpkin, all of the big orange ones had been picked over. It was either a big moldy orange pumpkin or a smaller but fresher white pumpkin… So , of course, I went for the white one but couldn’t help but be a little disappointed. While I was trying to console myself with the knowledge that the blood would show up better against the white, it occurred to me in a flash that Carrie’s last name was White – What can I say? I’m a hopeless Stephen King fan!

Hence, my Carrie White pumpkin…

cwp.jpg

I had the best time playing with the fake blood! Snaps to Tom for suggesting the pan underneath, because it is way messy.

May I recommend that you check out extremepumpkins.com? They have carving contests & the pages with the winners are definitely worth the time to seek out!

Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

